Big win for Tipp in Limerick

Home / Big win for Tipp in Limerick

June 24, 2024

Glen Dimplex All-Ireland Senior Championship

Mick Neville Park, Rathkeale

Tipperary 7-18

Limerick 0-06

Tipperary were in devastating form right from the off on Saturday with 2 goals by the 3rd minute. In their first attack Nenagh Eire Og’s Grace O’Brien had the ball in the back of the night. Two minutes later she won a penalty and Eimear McGrath was on hand to raise a second green flag for the visitors. Two more points from McGrath left the scoreboard 2-02 to no score after 7 minutes and things were looking very ominous for a struggling Limerick.  Karen Kennedy extended Tipp’s lead with a long-range score before Caoimhe Costelleo got Limerick’s first score after 12 minutes from a free. Tipp were totally dominant in the opening half with Grace O’Brien and Eimear McGrath ruthless in front of goals. Two more goals from O’Brien plus some lovely football skill by McGrath to finish a goal helped Tipperary to a 5-09 to 0-03 lead at half time. Caoimhe Costello had her second pointed free after 26 mins with Niamh Ryan getting their only score from play 2 minutes later. Eimear Heffernan, Caoimhe Maher, Roisin Howard and Eimear McGrath all pointed in the first half for Denis Kelly’s side. 

The second half continued in similar vein with Casey Hennessy scoring a goal after 3 minutes. Caoimhe Costelleo responded with a free 2 minutes later but the Limerick attack failed to leave any mark on the game as Tipperary dominated in all areas of the field. Ciardha Maher who was introduced at half time score the first of her 3 points on the 37th minute. Clodagh McIntyre had 2 second half points while subsitutes Cait Devane and Mary Bourke also got on the scoresheet. There was a further blow for Limerick with the concession of a 7th goal and Grace O’Brien’s 4th, an amazing haul from the lively inside forward as Tipp cruised to a 7-18 to 0-06 win. 


Limerick: Caoimhe Costello (0-4 frees), Niamh Ryan (0-2, 0-1 free) 

Tipperary:  Grace O'Brien 4-01, Eimear McGrath 2-6 (1-0 penalty, 0-3 free's, 0-2 45's), Casey Hennessy 1-0, Ciardha Maher 0-3, Clodagh McIntyre 0-2, Karen Kennedy, Eimear Heffernan, Roisin Howard, Cait Devane, Mary Bourke and Caoimhe Maher 0-1 each. 

LIMERICK:  Ciara Mulqueen, Teresa Dore, Marian Quaid, Cliodhna Ryan, Sophie O'Callaghan, Muireann Creamer, Ciara O’Riordan, Orlaith Kelleher, Rebecca Delee, Lizanna Boylan, Caoimhe Costelloe, Caoimhe Lyons, Ailbhe Larkin, Laura Fennelly, Niamh Ryan. Subs: Aoife Neligan for Dore (20 minutes), Stephanie Woulfe for Larkin (Half-Time), Emily O'Halloran for Delee (36 minutes), Niamh Brennan for Costello (45 minutes) Nadine White for O’Riordan (49 minutes), Ciara Neenan or Lyons (55 minutes)

TIPPERARY: Nicola Walsh, Julieanne Bourke, Mairead Eviston, Eimear Loughman, Caoimhe McCarthy, Karen Kennedy, Clodagh Quirke, Casey Hennessy, Karen Blair, Roisin Howard, Caoimhe Maher, Clodagh McIntyre, Eimear Heffernan, Eimear McGrath, Grace O'Brien. Subs: Aoife McGrath for Maher (half-time) , Mary Bourke for Kennedy (half-time), Ciardha Maher for Howard (half-time), Cait Devane for McGrath (45 minutes)