Tipperary Are Munster Junior Champions

Home / Tipperary Are Munster Junior Champions

May 23, 2023

Munster Junior Final

Tipperary 1-09

Limerick 0-08

Tipperary Camogie are basking in another Munster Championship success after the Juniors defeated Limerick in Sunday’s Munster final played in front of a fine crowd in Holycross. Tipperary got the opening score after 3 minutes and led right till the final whistle. Although Tipp never looked like losing the game they could never shake of the challenge of a gutsy Limerick side who grew more in confidence as the game continued. It was a hard earned victory for Tipperary with Eimear Myles goal after 14 minutes along with Limerick’s missed penalty in the second half key turning points in the game. Tipperary looked to be the stronger of both sides and dominated possession for many peroids but some poor wides coupled with the magnificent free taking of Limerick’s Valerie Shanahan meant there was never much between the sides. Limerick were slow out of the traps and with Amy Callanan superb at wing back for Tipp and Jean Kelly lively in attack they went into an early 1-02 to no score lead by the 15th minute mark. Brian Borus Eimear Myles who worked hard at full forward in the opening half got her award with an important goal. The travelling Limerick support had to wait 17 minutes for their first score courtesy of a Valerie Shanahan free. It was the first of 7 points Shanahan would score from placed balls with Lisa English Limerick’s only other scorer and with their only score from play in the second half. At half time Tipperary led by a goal 1-05 to 5 points with points coming from Aoife McLoughney (2 frees), Ellen Cunneen (2) and Jean Kelly. For Limerick Ann Kennedy was very good at centre back while Saoirse Fitzgerald and Phoenix Mulcaire Shire worked tirelessly in midfield. The introduction of second half substitute Ella Hession and switching Laura Southern out the field added more pace to the Limerick attack causing the Tipp defence to foul which allowed Valerie Shanahan to extend her personal tally. With 45 minutes gone Hession was brought down for a penalty and up stepped Valerie Shanahan but her shot went wide. Tipperary switched Claire Stakelum to full forward where she immediately started to have an impact. Playing in her own club grounds she was out in front time and again winning possession and slotting over 2 second half points. Player of the match Jean Kelly and Aoife McLoughney (free) also had second half points to make it 1-09 to 8 points at the final whistle. It was a fantastic victory for Tipperary not only did they win some much sought after silverware it will also give the panel a huge boost ahead of their All-Ireland campaign in June. They showed huge fighting spirit and determination and some brilliant attacking play going forward. David Sullivan and his management team will no doubt be thrilled with the result and the continuing progress of the team while also having areas to work on ahead of their championship opener in June. 

Tipperary: Aoife Butler, Ciannait Walsh, Aisling Sheedy, Ciara Ryan, Ciara McKeogh, Lisa Cahill, Amy Callanan, Clodagh Horgan, Caroline Shanahan, , Claire Stakelum(0-02), Aoife McLoughney(0-03 frees), Ellen Cunneen(0-02), Jean Kelly(0-02), Eimear Myles(1-0), Aoife Dwyer, 

Subs used: Katie Fitzgerald, Sarah Madden, Ellie Butler, Nessa Murray, Eimear Murphy,

Limerick: Naomi Ryan, Megan Ryan, Tara Lenihan, Elaine Frawley, Alex Russell, Ann Kennedy, Ciara Houlihan, Saoirse Fitzgerald, Phoenix Mulcaire Shire, Lisa English(0-01), Valerie Shanahan(0-07, 6 frees, 1 45m), Emma English, Laura Southern, Ciara English, Sarah Cosgrove, Subs used: Ella Hession, Sarah Shanahan